In-Patient Treatment a GO!!

That’s right, fellow bloggers and sanity enthusiasts, yours truly will be entering a 4-6 week acute care facility for depression. 

Because I don’t want fans and well-wishers picketing and camping outside the facility I will not divulge the exact location, but I will tell you it is in the Lone Star State. 

In all seriousness, I’m looking forward to this because I have been struggling for too long and feel like I am still slipping. 

Marie is struggling with the idea – not exactly sure what it is. Probably a combination of the unknown, and uncomfortableness with where I am going and the fact that I am leaving AGAIN for several weeks. 

I called my parents a couple of days ago to tell them. “Hey mom and dad, how’s it going? Oh by the way I’m getting admitted to a psych ward. You still thinking of coming for Thanksgiving?”

In all seriousness, my parents have always been so supportive in my life and it was no surprise they are concerned, but glad I am getting help! My mom probably has cried since I told her, but she would never let me know that. 

Now the bad news. I highly doubt I will be able to blog real time. 😦 The good news is I won’t be leaving until next Monday and check-in on Tuesday so I’ll have a few entries before I leave. 

Here are just a few of the items NOT allowed:

  • Batteries
  • Belts/suspenders
  • Clothing with strings or ties of any kind
  • Electronics of any kind: computers, mp3 players (cords are not allowed in the units)
  • Lighters
  • Medications
  • Mirrors
  • Razors or razor blades
  • Shoes with laces

This place is legit!! 

38 comments

  1. Chris – I really wish you good luck. As I’ve stated before, you seem like such a great guy and so enthused about blogging, but not about life. So I think anything you do that can help you get back into life is a step in the right direction. Your wife should hopefully come around to that way of thinking as well, although I can understand her concerns for you being gone for that length of time. I miss my guy when we’re apart for 8 hours.

    Best of luck to you. I’m thinking of you, hoping for you, praying for you. I am looking forward to meeting the “old” Chris.

    Leigh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes you gotta use the heavy artillery. I hope this works out for you.
    Yes, your wife is surely concerned about you being gone again; and what will happen to you while you’re there; and which “version” of Chris will come out the other side. But if she really loves you, she will ultimately know this is the right course of action.
    Since I live in Texas, I’ll try to send you some positive energy.

    And man, this place sounds strict. No belt? No laces? I’d have to show up naked. I always wear a belt, and all my shoes have laces. Don’t they have some kind of “minimum security” version of this facility? Can you at least bring stuff to read?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. R2 thanks for reading!! It must be “the other guys” they are worried about. It’s hard to find shoes without laces that don’t look geriatric!! And I’ll def be sleeping on my back the first few nights!! Lol I like the metaphors – bringin’ out the BIG GUNS!!
      Energy is good, prayer is better. I will say I WONT be in your city – just can’t get that close to the Cowboys and all their fans!

      Like

  3. All my good wishes and best of hopes are with you. And when you come back, I hope the rain makes you smile, the sun makes you smile, the idea of life makes you smile…Best of luck Chris πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s awesome news for you Chris! I hope you can go in and get the care and help you need to live a full and fantastic life. I will be praying for you – and your family at home. You will be missed. Yours was one of the few blogs I refollowed when I left my other site. I will especially miss your Sunday posts! Take care in there and come back to us πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope that you get the help you need. You will be missed in the cyber world. I will be praying for you during your stay. May you find comfort in the knowledge that the Lord will be with you the whole time.

    P.S. Writing poetry can be very therapeutic. If you have access to paper and writing utensils keep up a writing habit. Maybe practice your “three line” skills using pictures or scenes during your stay. πŸ™‚

    God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just found your site today through your Like. This is the first post I’ve read. It’s quite an introduction! This is a courageous step. I’m am working on getting discharged soon after several months in a German clinic. I wish you the best. I’ll keep reading your back-posts and see you in a few weeks. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

I'm an open book - would love to hear your thoughts!

