Thank You For Your Service, but Please Don’t Stand Alone! 

Today I attended a ceremony for Soldiers who have finished their military service and are retiring from active duty. For most, this means over 20 years of service and multiple overseas/combat assignments. 

It’s a hard life. 

Some retirees had family with them. Some had parents, some their spouse and children. Two of the most senior ranked Soldiers stood alone and neither wore a wedding ring. Maybe there was a large party waiting at home, I don’t know their individual circumstance, but I was sad for them. I know so many who have sacrificed family for career and promotion. 
The friend I supported today had about 10 family members including his wife, children and parents. I know he is a man of strong faith. 

This is what I wrote to him after:

You are a blessed man!!! Amongst all the retirees you had by far the largest group of family and supporters! Way to end it well! 

Lesson to us all – if there is no one to stand with me at the end of my career, I have done it wrong!! 

Serve well, but please don’t stand alone!! 

2 comments

    1. Yes. Same thing happens when we get home from deployment. Many families meet us when arriving, but not all. Imagine being gone to some horrendous place for a year and lot have anyone to hug you and hold you when you get home 😦

      Like

I'm an open book - would love to hear your thoughts!

