A Week of Recovery

As you may have picked up, my faith is a huge part of my life. The reason this is the case is because I know how fallible I am. I NEED help from someone bigger than me. 

This week Marie and I are at the North American Christian Convention 2015 in Cincinnati (NACC2015). Monday we were at Purdue for freshman registration with The Graduate then we put him on an Amtrak and sent him on his way. 

This all means Marie and I have 5 nights and 6 days ALONE AND KID FREE!! A rare occurrence over the last 23 years. 

We brought a book “The Relationship Cure” by John Gottman that our marriage counselor recommended for the week. We had a nice dinner by the Ohio River and walked back to our Kentucky side hotel and started reading it together last night.  

  

Looking forward to a week of recovery, refreshment, relaxation, rejuvenation, romance, recreation (any any other similar “R” words you can think of).

suspension bridge over Ohio River overlooking Bengal’s stadium

5 comments

  1. My old stomping grounds! Kentucky that is. We are Steelers fans and hate everything about Ohio. My husband and I had our wedding ceremony in Louisville.
    ANYWHO, looking forward to hearing things you’ve learned at the convention and that book! My husband is agnostic but humored me during our last deployment and read “The Five Love Languages”. Enjoy the enrichment without distraction with your Mrs. That sounds so exciting.

    Like

  2. I’m a big fan of the 5 love languages as a concept. My wife and I talk about this a lot – how we try to live the other bit don’t do it in a
    Way the other wants but rather
    In a way we each want for ourselves. I don’t think it’s a very religious concept – hopefully easily accepted by your husband.

    Good week so far! Thanks for reading and the interaction!

    Spent a little time in San Antonio (Sam Houston) in myself in the day.

    Like

I'm an open book - would love to hear your thoughts!

