See You Later and Be Safe!! 

In the military we have a saying, “Not goodbye, see you later.” So much more so when we are at war. 

There are so many friends we make and so many moves as part of the lifestyle. Then, all of a sudden you see someone you hadn’t for a while in a new unit in a new place. You simply can’t say a forever goodbye to so many great friends. We hope to see each other again.

But we also are still at war!! I know, Shocker!! Despite what you might or might not hear reported in the news we are still sending our Soldiers to Iraq and Afghanistan and some are still comming back in flag draped caskets. I have stood next to too many.

This week we sent a group to one of these places and it was HARD! Only when I was in the moment did I realize that I hadn’t actually been at a send off since I got back myself.

I was unprepared for the emotions I felt watching wives kiss their husbands, and dad’s hug their kids before getting into vans to head to a holding area then departing for their flight. I was not leaving, not kissing anyone goodbye, and yet felt nauseous. 

I went with the group to the holding area and had a few departing words for them. We prayed (you know the saying – no atheists in foxholes). They were off to one of the least hospitable places in earth. I went home to my family and had a late dinner.

I will see you later. Be safe my brothers. 

  

3 comments

  1. Thank you for your service. Many of my family members have served and I appreciate the sacrifices they have made.

    The French say, “aurevoir,” which translates to, “until we meet again.” Literally, though, it’s, “until next seen.”

    Cheers to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m slowly remembering all the shit from deployments passed. This post alone reminded me of ramp ceremonies and why I cant watch the “coming home” videos. A lot of my old peers have moved to Denver and every time we get together, the circle gets bigger with different memories that we’ve all pushed so far away. I just started blogging and in no way did I intend for it to be about my ten years in the military. But it just seems so deeply imbedded that it is just trying to release itself from my body, like bad take out. Thanks for this post. Thanks for being there for them when they headed out. Thanks for praying that they’d come back whole and safe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean – so deeply embedded. I had a 17 break in service – 100% out of uniform no association for 17 years. The first day back was one of the strangest of my life – lacing boots, blousing pants, standing in a formation- it all came back like it was yesterday. It gets inside is and becomes part of us. It’s hard but it’s not all bad.
      Thanks for sharing!!! And thanks more so for serving – it’s part of what allows is here to share openly and FREEly!!

      Liked by 2 people

I'm an open book - would love to hear your thoughts!

